The plan was to stay in and catch up on work, but the power went out in the middle of the day yesterday. My computer just blanked right out and, at first, I thought it was just the computer that had died, so it was a relief to realize there was a power outage. So, my husband and I decided to pop out for a walk.

0612171258

I never get tired of walking the streets of Cape May. No matter which way you go, beauty abounds. And when the scenery is beautiful, the walk is easy. This is The Southern Mansion, which was built in 1860 and now serves as a luxurious Bed & Breakfast.

0612171257

In 1879, a devastating fire struck Cape May, causing widespread destruction. The Southern Mansion was one of the few mansions that escaped and, though it later fell into complete disrepair, has been lovingly restored to its former glory.

0612171426

I never tire of the architecture, like the “witch’s hat” on this Queen Anne style house.

At one of the shops on the Washington Street Mall, we found this tee shirt for sale. As I said on Instagram, this doesn’t really speak to me, but my husband could relate!

0612171138_HDR

But, I have to confess, I didn’t “dress up” today. To beat the heat, I wore a pair of shorts and a thrifted polka dot blouse. Catherine of Not Dressed As Lamb challenged readers to wear something this week that we kept wishing we had the confidence to wear, and so, in response, I went out in a sleeveless blouse with nothing to cover my arms. A big deal for me!

0612171427

I was wearing it around the house before the power went out and was tempted to change into something with sleeves before we went out, but resisted. I did take a lightweight sweater in the car with me in case I chickened out. It was nice to feel the sun on my arms and not swelter in something heavier just because I’m afraid my upper arms are not for public consumption! It was actually a bit liberating and I think I will be doing it again!

Thank you for joining me on my frugal fashion journey! Please follow me here, on Bloglovin’Instagram and Facebook. Check out the linkups I participate in on the sidebar to the right. And please feel free to comment — I’d love to know what you think!

