I have recently gone down the rabbit hole called Ancestry.com. It is an enthralling place that is easy to get lost in for hours! Military records make up a large part of the documentation that I’m finding. My father served in the Army during World War II, and his father during World War I. I was surprised to find male members of my family registered for the draft during World War II in their 50’s and even 60’s. Although there is trouble and turmoil in the world today, it doesn’t directly touch most of us the way every family was affected during those times.

On Memorial Day, we remember those who gave their lives for our freedom. But we don’t hear about those who are making that sacrifice every single day. We don’t hear about them in the news, although we should. Like Seal Team 6 member Kyle Milliken, who was killed on May 5 during a firefight with Al-Shabaab forces in Somalia. Or Major Adrianna M. Vorderbruggen, who was killed in an attack by a suicide bomber in Afghanistan in December.

 

These are just two of thousands of brave military members profiled on The Military Times “Honor the Fallen” page.

Wouldn’t it be nice if their names were as familiar to us as those of the celebrities whose names make the headlines every day?

I am grateful to them and to their families. It is because of them that I am able to enjoy this Memorial Day holiday in peace and freedom. I hope that you are all enjoying the weekend as well.

0527171253a0527171358

Thank you for joining me on my frugal fashion journey! Please follow me here, on Bloglovin’Instagram and Facebook. Check out the linkups I participate in on the sidebar to the right. And please feel free to comment — I’d love to know what you think!

