When Philadelphia was hit with a nor’easter bringing snow, sleet and ice this week, I was in the enviable position of not having to worry about getting to work in the mess. Gone are the days where I would obsess over the weather forecasts and worry about digging my car out. It’s so nice to work in my own home at my own pace.

0317172019

But I do miss my work clothes. I used to love wearing suits, dresses and skirts and getting dressed up for work every day. Back in those days, I wasn’t a “thrift shop fashionista”, so my wardrobe wasn’t as extensive as it is now that my clothing is much cheaper!

0317172018

So, how ironic is it that now my opportunities to get dressed up are much more limited, I’ve started showing what I wear in this blog and on Instagram? It’s quite backwards, isn’t it? That’s how I do a lot of things!

One of my favorite bloggers, Pam at Over 50 Feeling 40, is always showing fabulous career wear and looking so polished! My goal is to look just as polished, even though I’m working at my desk or digging around at thrift shops and yard sales.

0309171559 copy

Not only does dressing nicely and doing hair and makeup every day make me feel better about myself, I believe it makes me more productive. On the odd occasion that I do sit around in pajamas in the morning, I find it harder to get motivated. If I start the day by immediately getting washed and dressed and putting on my shoes, I tend to be much more active the rest of the day.

Just a note about these sneakers. I’ve mentioned before that I have a hard time finding shoes for the cold weather, since I can’t wear shoes that have heels that rub against the back of my foot. I found these Skecher sneakers at Boscov’s. I sometimes have problems with backless shoes not staying on my feet, but these are nice and snug. I also have bunions on my left foot, and these give me no pain at all even though they are a medium width.

0315171546

My cats, Nick and Jack, helped with our photography for this post. My other cat, Boots, is a Daddy’s cat and wouldn’t cooperate!

0315171546a

WHAT I WORE:
David Hollis Black Cardigan (thrifted)
White Stag Print Top (thrifted)
W62 Jeans (thrifted)
Style & Co. Ruffle Bottom Sweater (Macy’s)
Highway Lifestyle Clothing Silver Vest (thrifted)
Green Gloria Vanderbilt Amanda Jeans (Boscov’s)
Lord & Taylor Black Top With Gold Bar Neckline (bought on sale by a member of my quartet)
Worthington Pink Sweater (thrifted)
Style & Co. Black Corduroy Pants (thrifted)
Skecher’s Easy Going Backless Sneakers (Boscov’s)

I have no affiliation with Macy’s or Boscov’s.

LINK-UPS:
The Fine Whatever Link-Up hosted by Fine Whatever Blog
Visible Monday hosted by Not Dead Yet Style
#iwillwearwhatilike & Saturday Share Linkup hosted by Not Dressed As Lamb
Turning Heads Tuesday hosted by Elegantly Dressed and Stylish
Ageless Style Linkup hosted by A Pocketful of Polka Dots
Wednesday’s Wardrobe hosted by 50 Is Not Old
The What I Wore Linkup hosted by The Blended Blog
Fresh Fashion Forum Linkup hosted by Sydney Fashion Hunter
Fancy Friday hosted by Nancy’s Fashion Style
On the Edge of the Week hosted by Shelbee On the Edge
Top of the World Style Linkup hosted by High Latitude Style
Ageless Style Linkup hosted by Fashion Fairy Dust

