It was warm enough to take photos outside today. I’m loving this mild weather right now, and I’m hoping we escape the winter without any big snowstorms.

0119171205

These photos were taken next door to our apartment, on the steps of a thrift shop. Yes, we actually moved right next store to a thrift shop! Really, it doesn’t get much better than that!

Apartment living at a busy city intersection means more walking. First, the apartment is on the third floor, so there are the stairs. Every time I climb them, I’m thankful for my weight loss. We never would have been able to live here when I was getting around with a cane three years ago.

0119171204a

Now, we walk to all of the stores and restaurants in the neighborhood and meeting my Fitbit goal every day. On days when we can’t get outside, I turn to the Comcast Fit TV on Demand walking videos to do in my living room.

When my husband was diagnosed with diabetes many years ago, we took an informational series of classes. During one class, the patients tested their blood sugar levels and we then took a stroll around the hospital grounds. We didn’t walk quickly, or get our heart rates up, or do any kind of strenuous exercise. When we came back, blood sugar levels were tested again, and we were amazed at the drop. It brought home how important walking and keeping active would be in keeping him healthy.

Comcast0119171204

Walking every day has become a habit that I hope will keep me active for many years to come!

0119172109a.jpg

What I Wore:
Style & Co. Layered Look Sweater (now on sale at Macy’s for $14.99)
Dark denim leggings
Sag Harbor quilted vest (thrifted)

Thank you for joining me on my frugal fashion journey! Please follow me here, on Bloglovin’Instagram! and Facebook. And please feel free to comment — I’d love to know what you think!

