I’ve always admired women who have the courage to mix patterns. I’m not that brave. So one of my New Year’s resolutions is to be more bold in that area. Here’s a first tentative try!

0103171244-copy-2

I’m sorry about the poor quality of these photos. Just goes to show you how “home grown” this blog is!

I started with a basic black and white outfit. Black and white striped long-sleeve top with black jeans. If you’ve followed me for a while, you know that I can never resist a floral jacket. So I topped the outfit with this jeans-style button-front jacket with breast pockets.

0103171244b-copy

I’m not sure this was a very successful pairing, although I’ve seen others do stripe and floral to great effect. I think a smaller stripe would make for a better combination. I thought I would share anyway because sometimes you learn as much (or more!) from what doesn’t work as you do from what does!

0103171244a

WHAT I WORE:
Baxter & Wells floral jacket (thrifted)
Chico’s black and white striped top (on sale in the store)

LINK-UPS:
The Fine Whatever Link-Up hosted by Fine Whatever Blog
Visible Monday hosted by Not Dead Yet Style
#iwillwearwhatilike & Saturday Share Linkup hosted by Not Dressed As Lamb
Turning Heads Tuesday hosted by Elegantly Dressed and Stylish
Ageless Style Linkup hosted by A Pocketful of Polka Dots
Wednesday’s Wardrobe hosted by 50 Is Not Old
The What I Wore Linkup hosted by The Blended Blog
Fresh Fashion Forum Linkup hosted by Sydney Fashion Hunter
Fancy Friday hosted by Nancy’s Fashion Style
On the Edge of the Week hosted by Shelbee On the Edge
Top of the World Style Linkup hosted by High Latitude Style

Thank you for joining me on my frugal fashion journey! Please follow me here, on Bloglovin’Instagram! and Facebook. And please feel free to comment — I’d love to know what you think!

 

 

 

