We’ve been having a little trouble with the heat in our apartment and used a space heater, which knocked out the power. So we spent a day without electricity.

1209161357

I had not fully charged my phone, so I was actually in a panic about it going dead. And I had to laugh at myself. I was whining about having to put on a couple of layers and not being able to watch TV and play Candy Crush!

I used to love the fall and winter, and to find the cold weather refreshing. No more! Probably because of weight loss, I am always freezing. Being out too long in the cold is almost painful. How warm to keep the thermostat is becoming a constant battle between my husband and me!

I just love warmth! Warm, cozy sweaters and lots of blankets and quilts on the bed. Hot tea and hot chocolate and a flannel nightgown! Not to mention that most blessed of inventions — the heated mattress pad!

1209161358

The other night it was mentioned on the news that Philadelphia had initiated “Code Blue”, where outreach teams scour the streets to bring the homless into shelters and out of the freezing cold. It’s heartbreaking to realize that, while I’m whining about a few hours without electricity, there are people who have no roof over their head at all.

Two organizations who provide shelter in Philadelphia are The St. Francis Inn and St. John’s Hospice. The people who work and volunteer in both of these places are extraordinary.

1209161358a

I’ve worn this basic outfit before on the blog here. This time, I’ve added a black shrug, leggings with a fun pattern, and this long necklace that I bought at a consignment shop.

12091614411209161441a

Susan Graver Style top (thrifted)
Laura Jeffries shrug (thrifted – $3.00)
Signature I Studio Leggings (old, I believe bought at Ross Dress For Less)
Necklace from The Insatiable Shopper consignment shop ($3.00)

LINK-UPS:
The Fine Whatever Link-Up hosted by Fine Whatever Blog
Visible Monday hosted by Not Dead Yet Style
#iwillwearwhatilike & Saturday Share Linkup hosted by Not Dressed As Lamb
Turning Heads Tuesday hosted by Elegantly Dressed and Stylish
Ageless Style Linkup hosted by A Pocketful of Polka Dots
Wednesday’s Wardrobe hosted by 50 Is Not Old
The What I Wore Linkup hosted by The Blended Blog
Fresh Fashion Forum Linkup hosted by Sydney Fashion Hunter
Fancy Friday hosted by Nancy’s Fashion Style
On the Edge of the Week hosted by Shelbee On the Edge
Untamed Style Linkup hosted by Cid File Style
Top of the World Style Linkup hosted by High Latitude Style

Thank you for joining me on my frugal fashion journey! Please follow me here, on Bloglovin’Instagram! and Facebook. And please feel free to comment — I’d love to know what you think!

