Colder and rainy weather has forced our photo taking indoors recently, causing bit of a dilemma. How do you find a spot in a one-bedroom apartment that doesn’t give the internet a view of “stuff”?

1130161402

We’ve spent the last 28 years raising our family in a three-bedroom home. After our boys left (and came back and left again), we found ourselves piling the extra bedrooms high with “stuff”. We were getting tired of having various maintenance issues. So we decided to downsize.

I can’t even begin to tell you what a nightmare it was go through so many years of accummulated possessions. We found boxes in the garage that we had moved from our former house 28 years ago and never even opened! The hardest part was going through my many bookcases packed full. I consider my books to be my friends and I read many of them over and over. So it was sad to have to go through and get rid of some of them. I sold or donated boxes and boxes full. And I still have about 30 boxes full in a storage shed that I couldn’t bear to part with!

1130161403

So we are now in a one-bedroom apartment. It has taken quite some getting used to. The living room area is quite spacious, and there is a large storage area as well. But it’s quite challenging to both live and run my business here. I think our cats are finding it challenging as well. The advantages are that we can walk out the door to nearby stores. It’s also convenient to get to the major area highways. And the landlord is responsible for maintenance, not us. We sold our snowblower — when the first snowfall comes, we can sit inside drinking hot chocolate and watching someone else clear the walks!

1130161404

So our indoor picture spot is now the landing outside of the apartment, which is the only place that has a fairly clear wall space!

It’s strange to look back and see how much different our lives are than they were just a year or two ago. Change is sometimes good and sometimes bad … but it’s always interesting!

1130160918-21130160919-2

I’m wearing:
Gloria Vanderbilt Amanda jeans in Sweet Burgundy from Boscov’s
Laura Scott Petite cable knit flare sweater from Sears
My necklace is old from Charming Charlie’s
These adorable tea cup earrings were a gift bought in Walt Disney World

LINK-UPS:
The Fine Whatever Link-Up hosted by Fine Whatever Blog
Visible Monday hosted by Not Dead Yet Style
#iwillwearwhatilike & Saturday Share Linkup hosted by Not Dressed As Lamb
Turning Heads Tuesday hosted by Elegantly Dressed and Stylish
Ageless Style Linkup hosted by A Pocketful of Polka Dots
Wednesday’s Wardrobe hosted by 50 Is Not Old
The What I Wore Linkup hosted by The Blended Blog
Fresh Fashion Forum Linkup hosted by Sydney Fashion Hunter
Fancy Friday hosted by Nancy’s Fashion Style
On the Edge of the Week hosted by Shelbee On the Edge
Untamed Style Linkup hosted by Cid File Style
Top of the World Style Linkup hosted by High Latitude Style

Thank you for joining me on my frugal fashion journey! Please follow me here, on Bloglovin’Instagram! and Facebook. And please feel free to comment — I’d love to know what you think!

