It’s been quite a while since my last post! In early October, we moved into a new apartment, and then went away for a week’s vacation to Las Vegas! Trying to move and pack at the same time was quite an adventure!

1016161103_hdr2

For comfort in travelling, I wore a pair of Rafaella ankle pants with some stretch in them and a thrifted animal print top, along with a yummy new Frank Lyman jacket that I’ll give you a closer look at in another post.

To keep luggage to a minimum, I packed a small variety of bottoms (pants, capris, shorts) along with a few neutral tops and two colorful light sweaters, since I’m always cold. I also packed a pair of sandals, a pair of sneakers, a pair of flip-flops and a pair of black slip-on shoes.

For instance, this royal blue tee shirt and peach sweater (it’s the same one, the lighting just makes it look pink in the second photo) could be worn with both the floral pants and white shorts.

The same sweater, paired with a white tee shirt, could also be worn with a pair of houndstooth ankle pants and a denim skirt.

A similar pink sweater was paired with my black pants and two different tops. If I had known I was going to pose with Elvis, I would have dressed up!

 

It was hot during the day and colder at night (and in the air conditioning), so I wore shorts or a skirt during the day and then changed to pants and added the sweater later.

I went to Las Vegas to participate with my chorus in the Sweet Adelines International a cappella barbershop harmony competition.  Over 23,000 women worldwide sing in a Sweet Adelines chorus or quartet and compete regionally to qualify for the international competition. The week was very busy with rehearsals and then the competition itself.

The only outfit I didn’t wear more than once was my costume!

1020161445_hdr

Sweet Adelines has posted a video of our performance, if you’re interested!

And you might also want to check out the winners of the competition — the Ronninge Show Chorus from Sweden!

If you are a woman who loves to sing (in your car, in the shower), click here to check out a Sweet Adelines chorus near you!

LINK-UPS:
Hit Your Style Sweet Spot hosted by Over50Feeling40 and A Well Styled Life
Visible Monday hosted by Not Dead Yet Style
#iwillwearwhatilike hosted by Not Dressed As Lamb
Wednesday’s Wardrobe hosted by 50 Is Not Old
The What I Wore Linkup hosted by The Blended Blog
Fresh Fashion Forum Linkup hosted by Sydney Fashion Hunter
Fancy Friday hosted by Nancy’s Fashion Style
On the Edge of the Week hosted by Shelbee On the Edge!

Thank you for joining me on my frugal fashion journey! Please follow me here, on Bloglovin’Instagram! and Facebook. And please feel free to comment — I’d love to know what you think!

 

 

