When I was a child, the beginning of the school year was an fresh new start. Not that I wouldn’t have rather stayed on vacation forever, but there was something exciting about beginning again. New books with unknown information, clean copybooks without ink blots or cross-outs, new teacher, new desk — a new year with no mistakes in it yet, as Anne of Green Gables might say.

1012160909b_hdr

New seasons are still like that for me, with spring and fall particularly so. Maybe it’s the fresh blooms and new colors each of those seasons bring. In spring, we throw open the windows and let light, air and bright colors into the house and our lives. In fall, we draw in warmth and comfort.

1012160912_hdr

As you can see, I had help while having photos taken today.

1012160911_hdr

Every once in a while, I like to step back and take stock of where I am and whether I’m still heading in the direction I want to be going. When I’m putting away the summer clothing and taking out the fall and winter clothing, it reminds me that old things end and new things begin and, if I’m not in a place I want to be, I have the power to go in a new direction.

1012160911a_hdr

Today, I wore bootcut jeans with a faux layered top. I really liked the length of this top, hitting me just at the tops of my thighs.

1012160912_hdr-copy

The exposed zipper down the back gives it a little something different.

1012160910b_hdr

I got this necklace at a craft show a few years ago, so I don’t remember the name of the vendor. Wedge heel boots give me a more stable feel than a regular heel.

1012160910a_hdr

I’m actually not wearing anything thrifted today, but, being a “frugal fashionista”, got everything on sale!

My layered-look Style & Co. sweater was from Macy’s.
The pants are St. John’s Bay Secretly Slimming jeans from JC Penney.
My ankle boots were from Clarks last year (found on Amazon).

LINK-UPS:
Hit Your Style Sweet Spot hosted by Over50Feeling40 and A Well Styled Life
Visible Monday hosted by Not Dead Yet Style
#iwillwearwhatilike hosted by Not Dressed As Lamb
Wednesday’s Wardrobe hosted by 50 Is Not Old
The What I Wore Linkup hosted by The Blended Blog
Fresh Fashion Forum Linkup hosted by Sydney Fashion Hunter
Fancy Friday hosted by Nancy’s Fashion Style
On the Edge of the Week hosted by Shelbee On the Edge!

Thank you for joining me on my frugal fashion journey! Please follow me here, on Bloglovin’Instagram! and Facebook. And please feel free to comment — I’d love to know what you think!

 

